In the Bookcase

12.29.2016

Book Review: The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge

A Literary Christmas: 2016 Reading Challenge // inthebookcase.blogspot.com

The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge by Charlie Lovettl (5 star review)


The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge

written by Charlie Lovett

107 pages // published in 2015 // literary fiction


BOOK DESCRIPTION

A delightful sequel to Dickens’s beloved A Christmas Carol by the bestselling author of First Impressions and The Bookman's Tale.

On a hot summer day some twenty years after he was famously converted to kindness, Ebenezer Scrooge still roams the streets of London, spreading Christmas cheer, much to the annoyance of his creditors, nephew, and his employee Bob Cratchit. However, when Scrooge decides to help his old friend and former partner Jacob Marley, as well as other inhabitants of the city, he will need the assistance of the very people he’s annoyed. He’ll also have to call on the three ghosts that visited him two decades earlier. By the time they’re done, they’ve convinced everyone to celebrate Christmas all year long by opening their wallets, arms, and hearts to those around them.

Written in uncannily Dickensian prose, Charlie Lovett’s The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge is both a loving and winking tribute to the Victorian classic, perfect for readers of A Christmas Carol and other timeless holiday tales.



My Review...

5 Star Rating

I really love this book. If you, or someone you know, is a fan of Charles Dickens and his classic holiday story, A Christmas Carol, then this is the book you need to get.

I don't think I've ever read a modern-day published book wherein the author has a complete grasp on how to write like a Victorian-day author. Enter, Charlie Lovett. Masterfully, he has interwoven the things we love best from Dickens' story into a sequel, one that lets us explore Scrooge 2.0 (AKA, "after his epiphany"). The way Lovett has done this book, I believe would make Charles Dickens one proud papa.

I'd best recommend this book if you want a charming holiday book to get caught up in, and if you are fond of vintage writers. This is an excellent title to have on your shelf.

I look forward to reading more by this author, as he seems to share the same passion for vintage classics that I do. And I would gladly re-read this book again some year in the future, especially right after A Christmas Carol.

The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge is available on Amazon in paperback, e-book, and audiobook format (and others).




P.S. Like and vote for this review on Goodreads and Amazon.


Please link to your sign-up posts, book reviews, and other Christmas book posts here:



*Any Amazon.com purchase made through the links in this post support this humble blogger with a small commission. Thank you!


4 comments:

  1. > Ebenezer Scrooge still roams the streets of London, spreading Christmas cheer, much to the annoyance of his creditors, nephew, and his employee Bob Cratchit

    Ha! This sounds delightful.
    Happy Reading New Year!

    ReplyDelete
  2. @Katherine Nabity, yep! The Scrooge we meet in this story is quite unlike the original we know from A Christmas Carol. In fact, he's quite the opposite. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like a perfect holiday read! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review! Here are my reviews from this week: http://shoshireads.weebly.com/home/city-of-fallen-angels-review
    http://shoshireads.weebly.com/home/what-light-review
    http://shoshireads.weebly.com/home/one-moment-review

    ReplyDelete